Woman in the Photograph

Be the first to review this book

£8.99

Availability: In stock

Author: Stephanie Butland
Publisher: Zaffre
Format: Paperback
Publication Date: 11 Jul 2019
Product Code: 9781785768965

It is a photograph she took of her best friend's death.

Now, as that controversial picture hangs as the centrepiece of a new feminist exhibition curated by Leonie's niece, long-repressed memories of Veronica's extraordinary life and tumultuous, passionate and - at times toxic - friendship begin to stir.

Delivery Information for Woman in the Photograph

Free delivery on all orders of £20 and over orders below this value charged at £2.95. An additional charge will be applied for Highlands and Islands, please see full delivery information here - Read more

 


  • Description
  • Reviews

Description of Woman in the Photograph

An empowering, thought-provoking feminist novel that will change the way you see the world. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Day, Claire Fuller and Joanna Cannon. 1968. Veronica Moon, a junior photographer for a local newspaper, is frustrated by her (male) colleagues' failure to take her seriously. And then she meets Leonie on the picket line of the Ford factory at Dagenham. So begins a tumultuous, passionate and intoxicating friendship. Leonie is ahead of her time and fighting for women's equality with everything she has. She offers Veronica an exciting, free life at the dawn of a great change. Fifty years later, Leonie is gone, and Veronica leads a reclusive life. Her groundbreaking career was cut short by one of the most famous photographs of the twentieth century. Now, that controversial picture hangs as the centrepiece of a new feminist exhibition curated by Leonie's niece. Long-repressed memories of Veronica's extraordinary life begin to stir. It's time to break her silence, and step back into the light. Praise for The Woman in the Photograph: 'Imaginative and moving novel - a must-read for any feminist' Katie Fforde 'I absolutely loved The Woman in the Photograph, a compelling,original and thought-provoking look at feminism and the power of female friendships' Sarah Franklin 'What a glorious combination: Stephanie's warm intelligence brought to bear on the complexities of second-wave feminism. I ate the book up' Shelley Harris 'Refreshing and thought-provoking . . . a stirring exploration of female friendship and the fight for equality' Carys Bray 'Brilliantly researched, thought-provoking, and written straight from the heart, this is undoubtedly Butland's best book yet' Lancashire Evening Post

Write Your Own Review

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Book Review
Loading...
Please wait...