Without Ever Reaching the Summit: A Himalayan Journey

Book cover

Without Ever Reaching the Summit: A Himalayan Journey

£0.00
£10.99
Author :   Paolo Cognetti
Publisher :   Vintage Publishing
Published :   20/10/2020
ISBN :   9781787302273
Format :   Hardback
Pages :   160
Size (mm) :   204x138x20
Weight (g) :   250

An awestruck love letter to one of the most spectacular places on earth, from the author of international bestseller The Eight Mountains.
Paolo Cognetti marked his 40th birthday with a journey he had always wanted to make: to Dolpo, a remote Himalayan...   Read more

An awestruck love letter to one of the most spectacular places on earth, from the author of international bestseller The Eight Mountains.
Paolo Cognetti marked his 40th birthday with a journey he had always wanted to make: to Dolpo, a remote Himalayan region where Nepal meets Tibet. He took with him two friends, a notebook, mules and guides, and a well-worn copy of The Snow Leopard. Written in 1978, Matthiessen's classic was also turning forty, and Cognetti set out to walk in the footsteps of the great adventurer.
Without Ever Reaching the Summit combines travel journal, secular pilgrimage, literary homage and sublime mountain writing in a short book for readers of Macfarlane, Rebanks and Cognetti's own bestseller, The Eight Mountains. An investigation into the author's physical limits, an ancient mountain culture, and the magnificence of nature, it is an awestruck love letter to one of the most spectacular places on earth.
'A breath of fresh air for mountain-lovers currently in confinement...The sparse, graceful prose...reflects the barren landscape and the author's joy in paring back the distractions of modern life' Financial Times, Best Books of 2020