Shadow of the Owl

Be the first to review this product


Availability: In stock

Author: Matthew Sweeney
Publisher: Bloodaxe Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Publication Date: 22 Oct 2020
Product Code: 9781780375427

Delivery Information for Shadow of the Owl

Free delivery on all orders of £20 and over orders below this value charged at £2.95. An additional charge will be applied for Highlands and Islands, please see full delivery information here - Read more


  • Description
  • Reviews

Description of Shadow of the Owl

Shadow of the Owl is Matthew Sweeney's final collection, bringing together the poems he wrote during a year of debilitating illness. He died from Motor Neuron Disease in 2018 shortly after publishing My Life as a Painter, written before he became ill, but - like all his previous collections - preparation for this final work. In a sequence of dark fables, a hapless figure is hounded by a procession of invisible enemies who want him dead. These jokers - kidnappers, assassins, liars all - have many methods at their disposal, from crucifixion or hanging to bombing or mauling by crocodile... A menacing owl comes to the garden each night for twelve nights, but refuses to deliver its devastating news. All of Sweeney's verve and spiky humour are present in these last poems, following, as always, the unnerving logic of dreams. But the dream has become a nightmare, and the catastrophe, impending in all the earlier collections, has now come to pass. The man on the run needs to reach new heights of ingenuity, if he is to escape, repeatedly, the most horrible of deaths. The poet is writing for his life. For more than forty years Matthew Sweeney sought to capture, in poetry, the life of a body menaced and condemned to wander in a terrifying place - but a body fully alive to the sensuous pleasures of the world, and the vulnerability of exposure to its loss. His final poems are imbued with a lyrical beauty and great sadness at leaving that world just as the spirit was burning as brightly as ever.

Write Your Own Review

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Book Review
Please wait...