Book Of Echoes

Be the first to review this product

£12.99

Availability: In stock

Author: Rosanna Amaka
Publisher: DOUBLEDAY
Format: Paperback
Publication Date: 20 Feb 2020
Product Code: 9780857526717

Delivery Information for Book Of Echoes

Free delivery on all orders of £20 and over orders below this value charged at £2.95. An additional charge will be applied for Highlands and Islands, please see full delivery information here - Read more

 


  • Description
  • Reviews

Description of Book Of Echoes

*****SHORTLISTED FOR THE HWA DEBUT CROWN AWARD********* FOR FANS OF GIRL, WOMAN, OTHER: A sweeping, uplifting and inspirational story of how a boy from Brixton and a girl from Lagos reinvent their lives in modern-day London. 'A new classic' SARA COLLINS, author of THE CONFESSIONS OF FRANNIE LANGTON 'So bewitching I almost felt like I time-travelled back into Brixton 1981. A gorgeous book' ALEX WHEATLE, author of BRIXTON ROCK ***************** 1981: England looks forward to a new decade. But on the streets of Brixton, it's hard to hold onto your dreams, especially if you are a young black man. Racial tensions rumble, and now Michael Watson might land in jail for a crime he did not commit. Thousands of miles away, village girl Ngozi abandons her orange stall for the opportunity to work as a housemaid for a middle-class family. From dusty tracks to gritty pavements, Ngozi and Michael's journey towards a better life is strewn with heartache. When they finally collide, their lives will be transformed for ever. With irresistible joy and grace, Rosanna Amaka writes of people moving between worlds, and asks how we can heal and help each other. Humming with beauty and horror, tragedy and triumph, THE BOOK OF ECHOES is a powerful debut from an authentic new voice in British fiction *********************** 'A searing, rhapsodic novel. Filled with beauty, devastation and the power of ancestral connections that ripple through the ages' IRENOSEN OKOJIE 'ABSORBING' SUNDAY EXPRESS 'IMPRESSIVE' MAIL ON SUNDAY 'POWERFULLY REDEMPTIVE' INDEPENDENT ''THOUGHT-PROVOKING, EVOCATIVE' HWA DEBUT CROWN JUDGES 'IMPASSIONED. LYRICAL AND AFFECTING' OBSERVER 'BEAUTIFUL' PRIDE MAGAZINE 'POWERFUL, IMPASSIONED, THOUGHT-PROVOKING' DAILY MAIL ************************************ Readers' love THE BOOK OF ECHOES: 'A powerful and honest debut which is going to stay with me for a long time' **** 'You can feel Amaka's passion rising off the page' **** 'BRILLIANT, thoughtful and masterfully crafted' ***** 'Deeply affecting and beautifully written' ***** 'Amaka weaves threads of stories over generations and continents with ease and polish' ***** 'An exquisitely beautiful piece of writing' ***** 'Oh my goodness, the book itself is even more beautiful and haunting than the cover' *****

Write Your Own Review

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Book Review
Loading...
Please wait...